As the owner of your channels and videos, you can restrict who can view, share or contribute to your content. For example, you can give access to the entire company to view a video or only some colleagues. This topic explains how to configure privacy settings.

Note:

Before continuing with this tutorial, you must be signed in to Microsoft Stream. For information on how to sign up, see this article.

Privacy settings allowed on media items

When uploading your video (or editing it later on) you can set the privacy settings described in this section.

Available privacy settings for videos

Currently, the following privacy settings are available.

  • My Organization (default)

    By default, any authenticated user in your company can view and share your videos.

    Set privacy

  • Custom

    Owners can restrict who can view your videos. You can pick users or security groups from Active Directory (AD) to edit the list of approved viewers.

    Set privacy

  • Only Me (private)

    Videos set to private are initially only visible to the owner. You can still share a video with others directly.

Actions that users are allowed to perform

As owner of a video, you can perform the following actions on your video:

  • Add to watchlist
  • Add to channels
  • Edit (title, description, privacy settings, thumbnail, captions)
  • Share
  • Delete

As viewer of a video, users and security group members can perform the following actions:

  • Add to watchlist
  • Add to channel
  • Share

Considerations

  • There is only one owner of a video.
  • Owners can assign permissions to users or security groups to enable them as viewers of a video.
  • Private videos cannot be added to channels; they must first be set to "My Organization".

Privacy settings allowed on channels

When creating your channel (or editing it later on) you can set the privacy settings described in this section on a channel.

Available privacy settings for channels

Currently, the following privacy settings are available on a channel.

  • My Organization (default)

    By default, anybody in your company is authenticated to view the channel and contribute to it. Users contribute by adding/removing videos to/from your channel.

    Set privacy

  • Custom

    Owners can restrict who can contribute to your channel (add/remove videos) by adding users or groups to the contribution list. With this option, anybody can still view your channel, but only a small select team of users can contribute videos to the channel. This is useful for building curated channels where you are in control of the content available for viewing.

    Set privacy

Actions that users are allowed to perform

As owner, you can perform the following actions on your channel:

  • Add videos to the channel
  • Edit (name, description, privacy settings, poster image)
  • Delete

As a member of custom permission settings on a channel, users and security group members can perform the following actions:

  • Add videos to the channel
  • Follow/unfollow

As a viewer only, users can perform the following actions:

  • See and playback videos in the channel
  • Follow/unfollow the channel

See also

Get started