Microsoft Stream allows for videos to be secured with a combination of permissions at the video level, group membership, and settings of a group.

Video permissions

Permissions at the video level allow you to control who can see your video, who can own and edit it, and which groups and channels it’s displayed in.

Video permissions example

Allow everyone in your company to view this video

When checked everyone in your organization can see the video and is able to add it to their groups and channels. This in effect makes your video available for viewing companywide. To be able to add a video to a companywide channel this check box must be checked.

Shared with

The Shared with field is where you determine who can view/own your video and which groups/channels the video is a part of.

Use the search drop down to narrow your search scope and pick who you want to share your video with.

  • My groups - search scope to add your video to a group that you can contribute to
  • Channels - search scope to add your video to a channel directly, including companywide channels
  • People - search scope to grant permission to individual people, AD Security Groups, and/or Office 365 Groups that you don't have contribute rights to

Viewers

Any person or group added under Shared with for a video's permissions will automatically be granted view permission to your video.

If you make a group or AD security group a viewer it means that all the members of that group will be able to view your video.

Owners

By checking the box in the Owners column you will be making the viewer also an owner of the video.

Owners of a video get the following abilities:

  • Edit video settings
  • Delete video
  • Add video to other groups and channels
Microsoft Stream groups

If a Stream group (not an AD Security group) is made an owner of a video the settings and membership of the group will be respected in determining who from the group is made an owner.

In the Stream group settings:

  • Allow members to contribute is checked: Members of the group are contributors, so owners and members of the group will have ownershiop of the video.
  • Allow members to contribute is NOT checked: Members of the group are viewers only, so only the owners of the group will have ownership of the video.
AD Security groups

If an AD Security group is made an owner of a video, all people within the security group will have ownership of the video.

Display

The Display check box shows up for Stream groups where you are a contributor. This controls if the video shows up in the group's pages in Stream. If it's not checked it means that the group has access if you send them a link or they found the video in search, but it won't show up on their group's pages directly.

Defaults when uploading videos

There are a couple of options for uploading videos. Depending on where you start your uploads from, different default permissions will be set on the videos, but you can always change them afterwards.

Upload from any page

When you upload videos from the top navigation bar in Microsoft Stream or the My videos page your videos will have the following defaults set automatically:

  • "Allow everyone in your company to view this video" check box will be checked, making your video available companywide for anyone to view and include in their groups and channels
  • You will be the owner of the video

Upload directly to a group or channel

When you upload videos directly to a group or channel your videos will have different defaults set depending on the group or channel type.

For companywide channels the following defaults will be set:

  • "Allow everyone in your company to view this video" check box will be checked, making your video available companywide for anyone to view and include in their groups and channels
  • The video will automatically be included in the channel you are uploading to
  • You will be the owner of the video

For groups or group channels the following defaults will be set:

  • "Allow everyone in your company to view this video" check box will NOT be checked, limiting the view permissions of the video to that of the group
  • The video will automatically be included in and displayed in the group and/or channel you are uploading to
  • You and the group will be the owners of the video, meaning anyone who is a contributor to the group will be able to modify your video

Group permissions

Groups have the following access and privacy characteristics:

  • Can be companywide or private
  • Are made up of owners and members
  • Has a setting to control if members are viewers or contributors

As such, when you make a Microsoft Stream group a viewer or owner of a video, all of the above is taken into account to determine who will get access to the video.

For more information: Group access settings.

Video permissions example

Channel permissions

Channels are an organization method for videos, but not a permission method. Channels don’t have any permissions on their own, unless they are contained in a group. When they are contained in a group they inherit the permission and access settings of the group.

For more information: Channels

See also

Overview of groups and channels

Create groups

Create channels